Local Organizing Committee
Scientific Committee


The recent catastrophic disasters such as the collapse of highway overpasses in Montreal; failures of levees and bridges in New Orleans; collapses of roofs of large civil structures in Germany, Poland, and Russia; land slides in California, Pakistan, and the Philippines; and rock failures and continued loss of lives in deep coal mines in China have dramatically increased the importance, and demand, for fully automated, continuous, and reliable deformation monitoring in the civil engineering, mining, and energy sectors.

In addition there is a strong trend to incorporating deformation systems into new structures from the very beginning, driven by concerns for whole-of-life structural health monitoring. Automation, multi-sensor integration, continuous data collection, integrated analysis and physical interpretation, and enhanced accuracy and reliability are the key developments in new monitoring systems.

These issues are the subject of studies of two international working groups: FIG Working Group 6.1 (Deformation Measurements) and IAG Sub-commission 4.2 (Applications of Geodesy in Engineering). This conference is the second joint meeting of the two groups under the theme “Measuring the Changes”, combining the 13th FIG Symposium on Deformation Measurements and Analysis with the 4th IAG Symposium on Geodesy for Geotechnical and Structural Engineering.

Scientists, engineers, educators, public authorities, and other professionals are invited to attend this international event in order to share their experience in the monitoring and mitigation of structural and ground deformations in engineering and geoscience projects.

Prof. Adam Chrzanowski
Chair of FIG Working Group 6.1

Prof. Chris Rizos
IAG Sub-Commission 4.2

Maria Joao Henriques
National Laboratory for Civil Engineering (LNEC)
Rui Manuel Fernandes University of Beira Interior (UBI)
Geophysical Institute Infante D. Luiz (IGIDL)
Jose Nuno Lima National Laboratory for Civil Engineering (LNEC)
Joao Agria Torres Portuguese Section of the International Unions of
Astronomy and Geodesy and Geophysics (SPUIAGG)
Manuela Vasconcelos Portuguese Geographic Institute (IGP)

Joao Casaca
Luisa Bastos Portugal
Fritz Brunner Austria
Dorota Brzezinska USA
Adam Chrzanowski Canada
Xiaoli Ding Hong Kong
Antonio Gil Spain
Svend Johansen Denmark
Alojz Kopacik Slovakia
Gyula Mentes Hungary
Wolfgang Niemeier Germany
Witold Proszynski Poland
Chris Rizos Australia
Gethin Roberts United Kingdom
Fernando Sanso Italy
Stathis Stiros Greece
Yukio Tamura Japan